Book Review: Lux Beginnings by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Pages: 760 pgs

Lux Beginnings consists of the first two books in the Lux Series Obsidian and Onyx. Just to not confuse you on my first book review, I will be reviewing this book separately in two (Obsidian and Onyx).


Obsidian

Goodreads synopsis: There’s an alien next door. And with his looming height and eerie green eyes, he’s hot… until he opens his mouth. He’s infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, he marks me. Turns out he has a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal his abilities and the only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Rating: 3.5 stars

My Thoughts

Positive Feedback – Obsidian was a quick read for me. If I didn’t have other commitments such as studies, work and family time, I would have finished this book in one sitting. The reading was quite predictable and cliche. This is the first book I’ve read which involves aliens. Its a very interesting read because I love the whole supernatural world even if they do come from beyond Earth. I love the action-packed dramas between the Luxen and the Arum. Their powers are awesome too especially Daemon. Daemon is one hilarious hot son of a bitch ❤ 🙂

Negative Feedback – Obsidian reminded me so much of Twilight which I’m not a fan of. There was too much mucking around and too many love stories as I’m not much of a romanticist. Never quite liked Katy because she just really pisses me off by not accepting the “bond” and obviously her feelings as well. She seems to get into trouble a lot which annoys me as well. The thing I do like about Katy though is that shes not expressionless like Bella.


Onyx

Goodreads synopsis: Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems. I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

My Rating: 4.0 stars

My Thoughts

Positive Feedback – There was definitely more action and love scenes in this book which I really liked. Just like the first book, it was a quick read and the writing was simple to understand. Especially for someone like me. The main thing I can say is the action was awesome. I could like literally imagine every move and make a movie out of it. This book made me cried some of the times especially near the end.  Oh myyy the ending was like OMGG!! I mean I’m happy for them but I can already feel that its going to change. Oh and one more thing the CUTENESS 😀

Negative Feedback – The whole love triangle thing was sort of pointless. It still felt as though Twilight was repeating itself but an alien version instead. The whole gossiping thing in school annoyed me, well that’s my personal point of view. Sucks now I have to wait to go but the third book -_-.

“Those three words? Always those three words”

Leave a Reply

