Book Review: The Wizard’s First Rule (Sword of Truth #1) by Terry Goodkind

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth, #1)

Goodreads Synopsis: In the aftermath of the brutal murder of his father, a mysterious woman, Kahlan Amnell, appears in Richard Cypher’s forest sanctuary seeking help . . . and more. His world, his very beliefs, are shattered when ancient debts come due with thundering violence.

In a dark age it takes courage to live, and more than mere courage to challenge those who hold dominion, Richard and Kahlan must take up that challenge or become the next victims. Beyond awaits a bewitching land where even the best of their hearts could betray them. Yet, Richard fears nothing so much as what secrets his sword might reveal about his own soul. Falling in love would destroy them–for reasons Richard can’t imagine and Kahlan dare not say.
In their darkest hour, hunted relentlessly, tormented by treachery and loss, Kahlan calls upon Richard to reach beyond his sword–to invoke within himself something more noble. Neither knows that the rules of battle have just changed . . . or that their time has run out.
This is the beginning. One book. One Rule. Witness the birth of a legend.


Author: Terry Goodkind

Pages: 836 pages

My Rating: 4/5 stars


My Thoughts

How I got this book is a weird story. I was in Salvation Army looking through the book section and saw this book. While I was holding this book an old man walked up to me and said “You should definitely get that book. It’s really good”. I was like  

Why not grab it? I mean the blurb sounds good, the cover looks good and the title has “wizard” on it AND the series is called SWORD OF TRUTH!!! Like heelloooo??? That sounds awesome as.

So I started reading this probably a week and a half ago/ two weeks. This is a huge book for me. I mean over 800 pages? dammnnn and the writing is pretty small within the book so it took me a while to read. When I thought I was half way through, I actually was only a quarter into it lol. 

kevin_hart_blink

Then while I was reading this, it sounded so familiar, like I’ve already read this sort of story line or maybe I’ve already seen it? And what do you know, when I looked up this book on Mr.Google. There’s a TV show adaption: Legend of the Seeker.

When I found out about this I was like:

The funny thing is I LOVED THIS SHOW!!! I remember watching this probably back in like 2008 or something where it use to come on Channel 10 in Aus. I loved it so much because it was about magic and fantasy. And I loved the characters . Richard and Kahlan were beautiful together. Cara the Mord-Sith was bad-ass. Zedd was awesome. Man all the characters and the story line was on point 🙂 And finding out that this book I’m currently reviewing is the reason for that show to start, I feel so privileged to finally know that there’s an actual meaning behind it all. 🙂

But anyways back to the Review. I love this book and I CAN’T WAIT for the second book to come through 🙂

So at first the relationship between Kahlan and Richard was heartbreaking for me and for them. I hated that they couldn’t be together. It was forbidden love and I was dying inside slowly for them. You could obviously see that they loved each other but couldn’t be anything more.

The plot of the story was exquisite. It was magnificently written and just aarrgghh!! I don’t know what to say. Terry Goodkind had created another world for me just like how J.K opened up the wizardry world for me 🙂 A place I can visit if need be.

OMGGG!!! The Mord-sith part was like:

This bitch better back off from Richard before I start ripping out someones head. Oh the pain I felt for him was out of this world. 😥

The end was like:

“I wish people had half the honor of dragons.”

Leave a Reply

