Book Review: Amber House by Kelly Moore, Larkin Reed & Tucker Reed

Amber House (Amber House, #1)

Goodreads synopsis: “I was sixteen the first time my grandmother died . . .”

Sarah Parsons has never seen Amber House, the grand Maryland estate that’s been in her family for three centuries. She’s never walked its hedge maze nor found its secret chambers; she’s never glimpsed the shades that haunt it, nor hunted for lost diamonds in its walls.

But all of that is about to change. After her grandmother passes away, Sarah and her friend Jackson decide to search for the diamonds–and the house comes alive. She discovers that she can see visions of the house’s past, like the eighteenth-century sea captain who hid the jewels, or the glamorous great-grandmother driven mad by grief. She grows closer to both Jackson and a young man named Richard Hathaway, whose family histories are each deeply entwined with her own. But when the visions start to threaten the person she holds most dear, Sarah must do everything she can to get to the bottom of the house’s secrets, and stop the course of history before it is cemented forever.


Author: Kelly Moore, Larkin Reed & Tucker Reed

Pages: 368 pgs

Format: Hardcover

My Rating:

 blue-star-edited2-hiblue-star-edited2-hiblue-star-edited2-hi


My Thoughts

Prior to reading Amber House, I had to get a feeling of what sort of book it was, so I went onto Goodreads and checked out the synopsis. The synopsis got me good but then I started to read the reviews and there were some negative thoughts about it. I thought to myself “who cares about the review, I like the cover AND the blurb so I’ll read it”. And I’m glad I did, because this book was unique, It was a simple read but the concepts of the “echoes” and the history of Amber House was quite confusing for. I had to sort of adjust to Sarah’s new world with her mother’s family and how the connection links with her family’s history.

I liked it a lot. The love triangle thing was a bit cliche, but I’m happy that Sarah finally realized who she wanted to be with. The mother was a bitch and I disliked her for treating her own family like shit. But after reading the history behind the house, I finally understood why she was protective over Sam and why she couldn’t search for him but Sarah could. Also understood why she wanted to sell the house and everything in it. There were too many bad memories, not enough good memories. 

I really like how the authors implemented the idea of “echoes” and the gifts Sarah, Jackson and Sam had. I mean the stories do sound familiar to psychic abilities, but for some reason I found that this book was different. I think because its based on one thing (the Amber House and the Parsons family history), it doesn’t sort of continue with different cases. There were parts where I was really scared for Sam.Each chapter got me sitting at the edge of my sit. It was a beautiful read.

“Sometimes people with the worst pasts end up creating the best futures.”

Leave a Reply

